Bully Beat Down

The Ugly Truth about Bullies

Bullied Canadian Teen shared story

on February 19, 2013

After reading this horrific and saddening story about Amanda Todd, I am in disbelief of how cruel people are. I do not understand how people can be so mean and malicious to ruin another persons life or make them not want to exist anymore. The story of Amanda Todd was extremely touching and I hope her story is heard so other teens who are bullies will see the reason to stop. In my opinion, I feel that teens think it is okay to bully others because “it’s what high school is”. I believe this to be untrue. Amanda was a 15 year old student in Toronto, Canada. She was in the tenth grade and a cheerleader at her high school.

In Oct 2012, Amanda committed suicide. On September 7, 2012, Amanda made a youtube video on her story of being bullied. Although, Amanda did not speak at all during the video she made flashcards that told her story for her. Amanda explains she was lured by a stranger to show her breasts and then the picture ended up on Facebook, in which all of her school friends saw it. Amanda switched schools after this awful incident and then encountered another girls boyfriend. Well this started the bullying all over again. Amanda was beaten and continuously bullied again. She writes in her youtube video that she went home and drank bleach and thought she was going to die, but she was rushed to the hospital to flush out the bleach inside of her. After, Amanda turned to cutting and overdosing and much more anxiety. She was in the hospital for overdose and was in contact with a counselor but none of this helped her.

After, I read the Amanda Todd story, I decided to find her youtube video of her story. I watched the almost 9 minute video where Amanda told her bullying story and I broke my heart. This 15 year old high school student was way too young to die and it is so saddening that this had to happen. She writes in her youtube video, “I am not doing this for attention to be an inspiration and to show that I can be strong.” She then goes on and says, “Everyone’s future will be bright one day, you just gotta pull through. I’m still here, aren’t I?” Those words sank into me and I thought if she was trying to show how strong she was, why did she commit suicide? How is she going to show other teens that are being bullied that they can pull through and overcome this horrible experience, when in fact she could not handle the pain anymore. The British Columbia gym where Amanda was a cheerleader posted a statement on its Facebook page.”I ask that we all watch her video and share her story so that her loss is not in vain,” the statement read. “Allow this to be her legacy. Allow us to all look around and find the next Amanda before another precious spunky teenager is lost.” This story should be spread so that others can hear her story and to see the pain and outcome of someone being constantly bullied.


Leave a comment